USACM Honors and Awards 2021 - Call for Nominations

The Call for Nominations for USACM Honors and Awards is now open. Use the link below to nominate a USACM member for the following 2021 USACM awards (descriptions may be found here): John von Neumann Medal, The Belytschko Medal, The Thomas J.R. Hughes Medal, The J. Tinsley Oden Medal, The Gallagher Young Investigator Medal, and USACM Fellow. Nominations are being accepted through January 31, 2021. Information on the Honors and Awards selection process may be found here.  The nomination guidelines are summarized below: 

  • A nominator can only nominate one candidate for each award, with the exception of the Fellow nomination, where no more than three nominations can be made. (Note: A separate nomination form should be submitted for each Fellow nomination if nominating more than one.)
  • Self-nominations will not be accepted.
  • Each nomination must be made using the USACM Honors and Awards Nomination Form below.
  • Members of the Honors & Awards Committee and the Executive Council can only nominate candidates for the award of Fellow.
  • Members of the Honors & Awards Committee and the Executive Council are only eligible to be nominated for and receive the award of Fellow. They will not be eligible for any other award.
  • A person is eligible to receive only one of the following awards in a lifetime: Belytschko Medal, Hughes Medal, and Oden Medal.  This also refers to the awards that preceded these Medals.
  • Nominee must be an Individual USACM Member at the time of the nomination.
  • A one-page CV should be uploaded with the nomination form. The vita must contain name, affiliation, honors and awards, and significant professional contributions pertinent to the award. If the nomination is for the Gallagher Young Investigator Award, the CV must include date of birth. An age limit (40 years old or younger) for the Gallagher Young Investigator Award is set. Nominee cannot turn 41 years of age or older during the year the award is given
  • John von Neumann Medal is to be awarded to outstanding researchers in the area of computational mechanics whose affiliation is with a U.S. Institution. All other awards are to be made to Individual Active Members only.